On July 1, 2013, the New Jersey Medical and Health Sciences Education Restructuring Act went into effect, integrating Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, with most of the schools of the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey (RBHS), including New Jersey Dental School. Now known as Rutgers School of Dental Medicine, the school was established as part of the Seton Hall College of Medicine and Dentistry, admitting its first students in 1956. It was the first successful program in dental education to be established in New Jersey, and is considered to be among the top dental schools in the country. It is the state's major resource for dental education, patient care and research.

With 296 operatories on the Newark campus and 24 in our Statewide Network for Community Oral Health, we accommodated more than 100,000 patient visits in 2012. We treat thousands of underinsured and uninsured working poor, with more than 30 percent of our patients enrolled in Medicaid. We make a significant difference in the lives of the patients we serve.